Define Me

I scream “Define me.”

I feel nothing.

So I surround myself with the normal culprits. Jokes, music, “I’m fine” and “Praise God,” lies that only I and few others can see through. From all perspectives, I am doing well. I have great classes and wonderful friends and I am deeply in love with a woman who is in love with me, but introspection reveals shattered glass, held together by painter’s tape.

I look to You, for You saved me in the past. I bled my heart at the altar, one more sacrifice to You, and You reached down and picked me up. Gave me joy, took my pain. I know You suffer with me, but I can’t feel the companionship. You’re beside me but I feel alone. My anxieties and fears surround me. I’m Jacob but instead of wrestling You, I am wrestling my own demons. This is one battle that I can’t afford to lose but alone I can’t win and yet I just can’t release the control. All I have left to fight back with is paper shields and cardboard swords. I’ve painted them to fool my enemy, but the deception will only last so long.

I am Yours. You made me and called me. You equipped me. You are right here with me.

Define me before my pain and anxiety defines me once again. You took that definition. I struggled to find my worth in You for so long and once again I am finding myself with no grasp of an identity. I was pain. I was sorrow. I was anxiety. I was fear. I was inadequacy. I was self-deception. And I was strangely content.

Then You came and took away my pain, sorrow, anxiety, fear, inadequacy, and self-deception. You gave me a cure. You gave me joy. You gave me peace. You gave me courage. You gave me adequacy. You gave me security. And I was gracefully complete.

But they’re so far removed that I am lost once again.

I am searching around for the definitions that I once had, and I am liable to grab onto the closest one that will take me. The difference between the former and the latter is blurring; my sight is failing.

I know this is my own doing. I put everything else before You. I looked at everything You had given me and I thought to myself, “I can do better.”

Well, here I am, Lord. Fallen again and searching for a hand to pull me up. Pull me out again; grab me by my shattered self and remake me. Burn away my impurities; hold me at the hottest part. Don’t hold back.

This time I’m not giving up.

Define me.

2 comments

  1. Nickel Boy Graphics · April 26

    This is such a fine piece of writing. You’ve taken a look at yourself so deeply that we are prompted to do the same in our own lives and see perhaps that we share a great deal with you.

    Liked by 1 person

    • honesttom18 · April 26

      That means so much to me. One of my biggest hopes is that through my writing someone is able to glean a deeper understanding about themselves and life in general. I am glad you are able to experience this!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

